Niligiri Avocados

Gifts from my trip to the Nilgiris just keep on giving… Avocados right off the tree. While the DH is being stuffed silly with delicious food while he holidays at his mum’s place, I am treating myself to a big bowl of guacamole, a dismembered tortilla wrap (thanks husband) and some salami – eating for one at its finest.Not something you see in small town India – avocado. Creamy and requiring a spritz of lime juice, I just love it and can’t wait for the day we have a big tree full of avocados. My aunt tells me that avocado, creamy and sugar is the best thing she’s had. Of course, avocado, mango and arugala leaves is also a winner (thanks sis for making that). APparently its very good for you too – high in monounsaturated fat (the good fats), and 20 different vitamins and minerals.

Since I’ve been left with 15 ripening mangoes and 4 ripened avocados while the DH is away, its time to get cooking and freezing…

Nothing much to a gucamole – scoop out the flesh, mash the hell out of it, sprinkle salt and lemon juice before it turns brown. I add chopped onion, tomato, coriander and green chilli to my guacamole.

IMG-20150525-WA0015 If you add just salt and lemon you can freeze the flesh and allow to defrost in the fridge – don’t try defrosting in the microwave.

frozen avocadoNo real recipe here, no real reason for posting other than to gloat a bit…it’s not everyday we get to eat avocados in India..

IMG_5428

About nonsense girl

Galley slave, qualitative researcher working in development, married my best friend, writing about my life, my family, my dog, TV, Indian culture, astronomy and my garden. www.nonsensegirl.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in The Pantry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.