Garden Update

I have been AWOL for a while – a combination of new job, travel, the fridge stocking that goes with the travel, a broken laptop screen and trying to organise an inter-school kids quiz competition has got me neglecting a few things. But with just a little attention on the weekends and a good bout of rain while I was away, the garden seems to be ticking along just fine. Here’s what the plants have been up to…

The cucumber is ready to begin its ascent up the pipe.

Cucumber climbing

Cucumber climbing

It’s already got flowers so fruits ie. cucumbers should not be too far away.

Cucumber Flower

Cucumber Flower

The bottle gourd, which looks very similar to the cucumber (but smells very different) has just been transplanted in to a grow bag and hopefully will start to climb as well in the coming few weeks.

Bottlegourd

Bottlegourd

We’ve already had 2 spinach harvests of about 6 bunches a harvest. It’s slow going with spinach and you need to plant every 2 weeks to get a rolling stock. It takes about 20 days for spinach, once planted to grow to a harvestable size.

spinach

spinach

The brinjal/eggplant is in full swing. I didn’t think that so many seeds would germinate and survive to become plants so I’ve got a bit of an overcrowding situation going on here. These plants will be 2 months old on the 20th of August. So we should start seeing some brinjals now (she hopes).

Brinjal explosion

Brinjal explosion

The garlic is looking pretty lush as well, although I’ve read that it’ll be about 4 months  before I can harvest them – that’s another 2 months to go. They are sharing space with the brinjal.

Garlic

Garlic

The lettuce has survived the transplantation shock and have taken to their new home in the milk crate. But they got battered in last night’s rain so while it’s looking a little less upright and little more muddy, there’s some great leaves in there…just waiting for a BLT sandwich… we don’t get lettuce in Vizag (and I won’t be eating lettuce shipped in from Bangalore)

Lettuce in aAugust

Lettuce in August

We’ve harvested about 4 coriander plants which all went in to one dish. I wasn’t very hopeful about coriander so I didn’t really plant many seeds. But having discovered some while I was weeding the Brinjal patch I thought I’d give it another chance. So a new batch of coriander seeds (crushed down the middle very gently with a motor/pestle or with a rock, back of a shoe) and scattered in a bed of agropeat has gone in last weekend.  Coriander seems to take an inordinately long time to germinate but I’m hoping that the agropeat will work its magic. I recommend to all vege or flower gardeners to invest in some agropeet which can be bought at http://www.kraftseeds.com and delivered to your doorstep. It’s fantastic for seed germination because of its texture, moisture retention and draining, and high nutrient value.

Since I’m treating this as a ‘scientific’ exercise as well as an adventure in experiencing the fruits of nature’s labour (and a little of mine), I’ve been keeping a log of when I planted my veges and their progress. Otherwise I would not be able to remember key milestones in their growth or whether any progress was being made. I think I’m learn many things from this experiment like patience and most of all a profound appreciation of the infinitely thankless and labour intensive work that farmers do so that I can have food on my plate everyday.

About nonsense girl

Galley slave, qualitative researcher working in development, married my best friend, writing about my life, my family, my dog, TV, Indian culture, astronomy and my garden. www.nonsensegirl.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Earth and Sky and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Garden Update

  1. ganesh gopalakrishnan says:

    our new garden has lovely “kothmir”. Spinach is growing. no brinjals yet

  2. Wow! Green fingers 🙂 Great to see the rains have been keeping your garden going. Well done and, in time, looking fwd to the recipes that will emerge out of the garden produce!

    • I’m hoping we have a bacon, lettuce and tomato sandwich this weekend – i might be able to salvage 2 or 3 lettuce leaves. All i’ve really done is weeding and maintain a spreadsheet!

Comments are closed.