Sun dried tomatoes

We’ve had a small tomato harvest and I’ve been meaning to make our own sundried tomatoes – or more like oven dried tomatoes. Some of these buggers got away from me but this is so easy you have to try it. You get an intense concentrated tomato flavour combined with a sort of smokiness – great for a sundried tomato, basil and mozzarella pizza.

Tomato plant

Tomato plant

Freshly picked tomatoes

Freshly picked tomatoes

Recipe for homemade sundried tomatoes.

This recipe is for drying tomatoes in the oven. You could dry them in the sun (we have cloudy skies at the moment) for at least 24hrs of sunshine, somewhere where the birds and squirrels won’t get at them. Oven drying them seems far simpler though.

Preheat oven to 150 C.

Slit the tomatoes in half or quarters for big ones. Place on a baking tray. This is best done with small cherry tomatoes but we don’t get these in the shops. You can get seeds for cherry vine tomatoes and grow your own.

Slit tomatoes, place on baking tray

Slit tomatoes, place on baking tray

Sprinkle with salt (think, every tomato should get a few grains of salt), grated garlic, black pepper and olive oil. Place the tray in the middle of the oven and these should be done in about 1 hr. You can add some oregano, thyme or rosemary if you like.

Sprinkle with salt, pepper, garlic, olive oil

Sprinkle with salt, pepper, garlic, olive oil

I tried to cheat and speed up the process by whacking up the heat to 200 C and as you can see, some of these buggers got away from me. But surprisingly, the flavour was still so good and the burned bits tasted like the tomatoes had been on the bbq.

Slightly burned round the edges but still tasted good

Slightly burned round the edges but still tasted good

You can use these tomatoes in any pasta dish with some oven roasted courgettes and eggplants or on a pizza like we did or even in a cold salad. You can put them on crostinis with some cheese, put them on crackers with cheese, snip in to soups, stews or casseroles.

Pizza before it goes in to the oven

Pizza before it goes in to the oven

For my recipe for pizza dough and sauce go here.

Pizza - sundried tomatoes, mushroom, onion, mozzarella, dried basil

Pizza – sundried tomatoes, mushroom, olives, onion, mozzarella, dried basil

Please see comments below for storage.

About nonsense girl

Galley slave, qualitative researcher working in development, married my best friend, writing about my life, my family, my dog, TV, Indian culture, astronomy and my garden. www.nonsensegirl.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Earth and Sky, The Pantry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sun dried tomatoes

  1. I don’t have photos of my efforts, but I dry my tomatoes at 100 C – they take longer to dry out but I think it intensifies the flavour. Also, I prefer to use roma tomatoes.
    If you want to sun dry them, you could try putting the dish of prepared tomatoes at the bottom of a cardboard box and place a sheet of glass over it. I haven’t tried this method but the chap who does it this way says that the glass increases the heat in the box and also keeps insects/animals out.

  2. Pingback: Baked fish with capanata, french green beans and hollandaise | nonsense girl

  3. Alka Ganesh says:

    Can you store them, and if so for how long? A few months ago, every time my purchases at Spencers exceeded a specific amount, I got a kilo of tomatoes; once I gave a kilo away to an old man who was rummaging in the garbage bin. He looked at my offerings rather suspiciously and I was afraid he would dunk the tomatoes in the garbage bin. Next time there is a bumper crop, and the poor man is not around I will try oven dried toamtoes, but the old man is still the first preference!

    • Good question. A kilo of tomatoes will shrink way down, you’ll be dealing with much less volume, so the chances are you’ll finish them pretty quick. But if you do have a bumper crop then allow them to cool completely. You can store them in an airtight jar or ziplocl back. Pack in the sundried tomatoes as closely as you can. THen fill the jar with olive oil till it just covers the tomatoes and thrown in a tsp or two or dried thyme or oregano (a herbed oil is what you are going for) This will last in the fridge for at least 2 months (some websites say 6 months) and in the freeze for much longer. This is what Martha Stewart recommends.

  4. ganesh gopalkrishnan says:

    how many are there to eat all this delicious food

Comments are closed.