Writing Plugs

I use this blog to blatantly plug some recent writing projects of mine that have been published for you to access onlineThe latest publication is for an online magazine called Info for Change. This month’s issue theme is More laws= more rights = more justice? A joint piece by  my sister and I about how TV news media campaigns such as those for Jessica Lall and Priyadarshini Mattoo appear to be shaping and giving voice to public opinion. But is this democracy in action or a sensationalist, manipulative drama to raise ratings? Is it more about media power than citizen power? Please read our article here

I’ve recently been writing for an Indian website for women called Tag Diva. It’s filled with well written short pieces on food, travel, relationships, entertainment and local city news written by women for women, though anyone would like it honestly. You’ll find my articles under Food, Travel and Pets sections. But all the articles on here are very good. Please do pay us a visit. We are also on Facebook

If you live in Vizag there is a local city magazine called Yo Vizag where I write a monthly column called Vizag Vistas about things you should do and see around the city. You can buy the magazine at Karachiwala and the malls in Vizag. You can also find them on facebook

This one is an oldie but a goodie – in the National Medical Journal of India, a peer reviewed journal, an article called Reflective Writing by final year medical students:lessons for curricular change written by mother and I on our research with final year medical students who we asked to keep diaries of their clinical experiences. Fascinating, genuine thoughts and fears on death, being a competent doctor and medical education.

Hopefully the research article I write with my father will also get published in a peer reviewed journal. Then I would have written published articles with all my family members! That will be an unexpected achievement!

About nonsense girl

Galley slave, qualitative researcher working in development, married my best friend, writing about my life, my family, my dog, TV, Indian culture, astronomy and my garden. www.nonsensegirl.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Family Ties and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Writing Plugs

  1. Dev says:

    That article bat media campaign was quite interesting. Many people are driven away from objective thinking by our education system. We are just taught to comply with whatever is being shoved into our face.

  2. Manaswini says:

    Hi Gayatri,

    Thank you for a word on Tagdiva, your blogs truly enrich the website.

    Looking forward to more of it.

    Regards

  3. shyla says:

    Absolutely fascinating reading the med students thoughts Gayu-seems to encapsulate all of my thoughts at various points in my career. It was not called ‘reflections’, just a whole host of doubts and worries.
    I’m sure Ganesh and you can come up with a urological topic-thoughts while having a prostate examination perhaps?? Sorry, couldn’t resist that!

    • I’m sure my dad’s got a host of “bend over” jokes lined up for that one! But seriously, we’ve already done some research together and are writing the paper as we speak.
      The ‘reflections’ paper was a lot of fun to do. Glad it resonated.

Comments are closed.