Zucchini fritters

Usually when I go away on work or family stuff, I stock the freezer with lasagnas and bakes and of course, dal and curries as well. But this time, being on the post-holiday health kick, the menu was only dal and some vegetables. So I thought I should make a tasty feast for the DH whose been looking after Abroozi so well in my absence. 

One of the treats I brought back from my travels was this giant zucchini/courgette. This is a fresh, organic zucchini grown in my aunt’s garden in the Nilgiris. It doesn’t come more pure than this. We don’t get zucchini in Vizag (maybe occasionally in Spencer’s but I only go once a month and don’t shop there for veges). So I jumped at the chance to bring this baby home. Definitely the biggest zucchini I’ve ever seen. To show you just how I big it is I attempted to measure from my elbow to my finger tip using it and mind you, this isn’t even a fully outstretched arm (try balancing that thing and a camera in your other hand)

The biggest zucchini I've ever seen

The biggest zucchini I’ve ever seen

So to accompany tonight’s dinner I thought we’d have some zucchini fritters. Here’s how it’s done.

Zucchini fritters

Zucchini fritters

Zucchini fritters Ingredients

Zucchini fritter ingredients

Zucchini fritter ingredients

1 cup grated zucchini

1 tsp salt

1 egg

1/4 cup flour

1 small onion finely chopped

2-3 cloves garlic finely chopped or minced.

1 tsp chilli flakes

1 to 2 tbsps milk

You can add freshly chopped mint as well or even peas but I had neither.

You can also add some crumbled feta cheese or grated chedder. I didn’t add either.

Method: 

Grate the zucchini

Grate zucchini

Grate zucchini

Place in a towel, sprinkle over  salt and allow to sit for ten minutes. The salt will help extract the water from the zucchini. Wring out the towel, taking out  as much of the water from the zucchini as possible.

zucchini3

Just some of the liquid from the zucchini

Just some of the liquid from the zucchini

In a bowl beat the egg, add onion, garlic, chilli flakes, zucchini, pinch of salt and the flour. Loosen with a tbsp of milk  to get a batter of dropping consistency.

Zucchini fritter batter

Zucchini fritter batter

Heat a little oil in a frying pan to make a test batch. Using a teaspoon drop a small bit of the mixture in to the oil and fry till browned. Remove and taste the fritter to make sure you have got the right amount of seasoning. Add more salt or pepper to suit your taste.

Fry a little to check seasoning

Fry a little to check seasoning

Heat 2 to 3 tbsps of oil in the pan on medium heat. Using a tablespoon drop batter in to the hot oil and flatten to distribute evenly. Fry till golden and flip over.

zucchini8

Allow to drain on kitchen paper.

This makes about 10 fritters.

Can be eaten plain or with a tomato chutney( fry onion, green chilli, garlic, tomatoes and jaggery or sugar till becomes a thick jam consistency) or zatziki dip.

I couldn’t wait for dip making and ate them right away. Very yummy indeed. Would be perfect as a tea time snack and I’m sure they taste just as good cold the next day.

I forgot to mention that you can add cheese to the batter as well. In my excitement to make these i totally forgot about the cheese! Feta or a chedder is recommended but I wouldn’t be fussed either way.

Zucchini fritters

Zucchini fritters

About nonsense girl

Galley slave, qualitative researcher working in development, married my best friend, writing about my life, my family, my dog, TV, Indian culture, astronomy and my garden. www.nonsensegirl.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in The Pantry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Zucchini fritters

  1. Alka Ganesh says:

    Zucchini and courgettes are exotically named vegetables which are relatives of our “lauki” and other “to be avoided” veges especially by children whose tastebuds are yearning for pizzas and other “poisonous” foods. I think this is great way to dress up the lowly exotically named vegetable, were it not for the oil for frying!

  2. shyla says:

    Courgettes, to the Brits. When they get too big, they are squashes. Your fritters look yummy indeed. Have you tried the flowers stuffed with cheese and fried?

    • gkorula says:

      I’ve tried the flowers when I lived in the ‘Queen’s Isle’ but here I don’t even get courgettes let alone the flowers! BUt will suggest them to my aunt as they seem to be growing unchecked in the nilgiris. Must try to plant them here in vizag..

Comments are closed.