Cattle ride

I wonder whether in 20 years, we’ll still be seeing this sight on our highways…

Water buffalo tied together with rope through their nostrils for transportation

Water buffalo tied together with rope through their nostrils for transportation

Water buffalo being transported in India

Water buffalo being transported in India

We’ve become so immune to seeing this sight, of water buffalo, cows and goats tied together with rope through their nostrils being transported from one village to another in an open truck. But is this really humane? Is there no other way to transport live animals? According to PETA animals all over the world are transported in “uncomfortable” conditions.

I don’t think that’s going to change any time soon though. These farmers have hardly any financial backing to change things either.

About nonsense girl

Galley slave, qualitative researcher working in development, married my best friend, writing about my life, my family, my dog, TV, Indian culture, astronomy and my garden. www.nonsensegirl.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in TV and Culture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cattle ride

  1. Alka Ganesh says:

    You are right, we do not think about images which are common, even if gruesome! And yes, the farmer needs help too!

Comments are closed.