Homemade dog biscuits

I’ve searched, I’ve researched, I’ve experimented and it’s been really hard to find a good easy gluten free dog biscuit recipe. Finally here it is, adapted from the Whole Foods banana and peanut butter dog biscuit. We suspect that Abroozi has a gluten allergy which causes him to break out in skin pustules. This means cutting out all wheat. But mass produced dog biscuits all contain wheat, either whole wheat or flour. So in India we are forced to make our own at home. This is the easiest recipe I’ve found and I make one batch of 35 biscuits every 1 and half to 2 weeks, in a matter of minutes.

I’ve lessened the amount of peanut butter from the Whole Foods’ original recipe because peanut butter in India has way too much salt. I’ve replaced it with honey. I’ve also replaced the oats flour with millet flour (ragi) which is used to make a common breakfast porridge in India and can be found in any kirana/grocery shop. They recommend adding parsley or mint as a breath freshener for your dog but I haven’t tried that yet.

Ingredients

1 x banana mashed

1 cup x millet flour/ragi

2/3 cups x rolled oats (like Quaker)

1 tbsp x peanut butter

2 tbsps x honey

1 beaten egg

Method

Preheat oven to 150 degrees Centigrade.

Mash the banana and add all the ingredients, ensuring you beat the egg before adding. Mix together with your hands. Leave to rest for 5 mins while you clear up and get a baking sheet out. At first it will look like the “dough” is not going to come together but it eventually does.

Biscuit dough mix

Using a tsp measure, make little balls from the “dough” . I just pack the tsp measure with the mixture and scoop it out. This way you get balls of all the same size that cook at the same time. You’ll get 35 balls from a 1 tsp measure. Place on a baking sheet.

Tsp measure of dough

Arrange on a baking tray

Bake for 30 to 40 mins. Wait till they cool before placing in an airtight container. They will last about 2.5 weeks outside the fridge. They can also be frozen.

About nonsense girl

Galley slave, qualitative researcher working in development, married my best friend, writing about my life, my family, my dog, TV, Indian culture, astronomy and my garden. www.nonsensegirl.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Dog Days and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Homemade dog biscuits

  1. anu says:

    can we replace egg by any other ingredient

  2. Ganesh Gopalakrishnan says:

    I doubt if biscuits for human consumption are made with so much care. there are many people whio have gluten allerguy.

    • gkorula says:

      Sadly gluten allergy in dogs is not taken seriously because they don’t have violent obvious reactions to it (like human nut allergies). So people tend to ignore it for many years and often don’t associate skin and ear problem with a food allergy.

  3. Alka Ganesh says:

    what is abroozi’s reaction to the biscuits? It must be satisfactory or else you would have mentioned it.

Comments are closed.