Strike a pose

Last week we went to the Novotel Vishakapatnam for the Chinese Food Festival. What I didn’t tell you, because frankly it was so inconsequential that I completely forgot about it, was that a lady in the hotel lobby accosted us to take part in the Blender’s Pride Fashion Shoot Competition. Photo shoot – moi? not the DH surely? Have I got your attention…

We were headed to the restaurant when a young woman approached us to pose for a photograph for the Blender’s Pride photo shoot competition. There was a little cardboard 3ft by 3ft raised black booth with their logos plastered around . We looked hesitantly at each other (the DH far more hesitant than I). If all we had to do was take a picture then I was game. So we smiled at a camera, held hands, “CLICK” and headed to dinner. No dramatic poses, no pouty lips, no attitude, just a smile. I did enquire about the prize and when she said “free passes to the fashion show”, I recall saying (a bit too loudly and disappointedly) “Is that all? No free dinner, no free drinks, no free hotel room stay?”

Two weeks later and we got a call this afternoon saying we had won the photo shoot and were voted the best looking couple in Vizag! Hah! Who would’ve thunk it. We Winned! But let’s put this in perspective:

That tiny little dot is us

Unfortunately, the prize has not changed and neither of us has any intention of going to a fashion show in Vizag, without free drinks or dinner, no free gift hamper, packed with sweaty young people a decade and half younger than us and loud throbbing music with women parading clothes I’m never going to buy. We’re not really fashion show people. I called to enquire if the passes were transferable because there are a few young Lieutenants and their wives who would love to go for something like this but sadly, no.

Reason No.1 for not going: Fashion shows are phony.

Reason No.2 for not going: This is a Vizag fashion show.

Reason No.3 for not going: Loud chaos.

I’d go on, but I think I’ve said enough.

At least we’re winning things  and my obsession for winning freebies is being sated. Which reminds me that I still haven’t been sent my prize for winning the Castrol Power Blog contest….that’s a prize I could really use as well.

About nonsense girl

Galley slave, qualitative researcher working in development, married my best friend, writing about my life, my family, my dog, TV, Indian culture, astronomy and my garden. www.nonsensegirl.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in TV and Culture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Strike a pose

  1. Rahul says:

    Wow. I’ve never known Vellore is so fashion conscious or advanced. You diss Vizag in every way possible, you get the shittiest of street food in Tamil nadu, the chaats in Chennai if ever eaten by someone who’s been in the north would simple puke. Atleast Vizag serves paani puri that tastes like the real deal. Not to forget the bajjis etc. Just because someone’s been kind enough to vote you guys, you can’t keep dissing Vizag for every lame reason. All this talk of smalll town as if Vellore is some Paris is just ludicrous.

  2. ashreyamom says:

    hmmm.. dont know what to say.. vizag fashion show.. no comments.. i have not seen do much of trend here.. i also think its not worth going in vizag.. but for the place, i would have loved to go for a fashion show.. 🙂

  3. Alka Ganesh says:

    Why put Vizag down? At least you have cool events like photo shoots, and cooking competitions! Maybe we are on the wrong side of 60, and so do not get all the news, but I never have heard of such interesting prizes and competitions in Coimbatore.

    • gkorula says:

      I think i’m putting fashion shows down first and then vizag…And even if i wanted to go (just to get a post out of it), you know my husband – try getting a grown man to a fashion show…even the prospect of pretty girls is outweighed by the horrors of the concept. On the other side of 60 you’re not going to fashion shows but you are invited to hear Adbul Kalam speak (boring as it was)…

Comments are closed.