Lemon puddle pudding

To celebrate one year of blogging on WordPress and my 101st post, I thought a pudding was in order. I love the sound of this dessert – lemon puddle pudding. This is a monsoon type dessert – something warm and cozy to celebrate that the rains have finally come. Featured in this month’s BBC Good Food magazine I’ve been eager to try it but I know that the DH doesn’t really like the flavour of lemons. I was so wrong. The other day I suggested making a lemon mousse. It was light, fluffy, lemony and the man was hooked. So on the back of this recent discovery that the DH actually does like lemon flavoured desserts, I got to work on the lemon puddle pudding.

Lemon puddle pudding

A pudding should have the softness and airiness of a cake and a gooey fudge like centre. This dessert has all that. The top is a lovely and light which cuts through the rich gooey lemon curd at the bottom. I found that a small dollop of cream worked well. Warm or cold, it’s YUMMM.

Lemon Puddle Pudding Recipe:

Preheat oven to 180 degrees centigrade

Separate 3 eggs.

In a food processor (or by hand with a whisk) whiz up 3 egg whites to soft peaks and place in a bowl.

Rinse out the food processor and add 50 gms of butter to 200 gms caster sugar and the rind of a lemon or lime  (I didn’t have rinds and it still worked well).  Whizz up till pale and fluffy. Alternatively do this by hand, shouldn’t take more that 5 mins if the butter is soft at room temperature. It will be a bit grainy because of the higher proportion of sugar to butter.

Add 50gms of  sifted flour, 250 ml of milk, 1 tsp of vanilla, 100ml of lemon/lime juice and 3 egg yolks. (I actually didn’t have enough limes so I used the instant Lemoneez you get in a bottle and it worked just fine).

Fold in (not mix in or you’ll lose the airiness of the egg whites) the egg whites by moving a spoon/spatula, through the middle of the egg whites, then up and over. Keep repeating till all the egg whites have been incorporated – a firm yet soft hand required. Pour the batter in to a baking dish. Place the baking dish in another baking dish or tray that is filled with hot water, till it reaches half way up the dish with the pudding batter. This will ensure that the bottom and middle cooks. Bake at 180 centigrade for 40 to 45 minutes.

Gooey lemon curd filling at the base

Post NO.100.. Wohoo!

About nonsense girl

Galley slave, qualitative researcher working in development, married my best friend, writing about my life, my family, my dog, TV, Indian culture, astronomy and my garden. www.nonsensegirl.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in The Pantry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lemon puddle pudding

  1. Looks great! Can get all the ingredients in BC, so its on the agenda when you come 🙂

  2. ashreyamom says:

    wow mouthwatering.. why didnt u call me home re… it looks so delicious..

Comments are closed.