The will to live

It’s been an unusually busy week for us – two late nights and dinners out in a row. That’s huge for us on a week night. Assorted brownie orders, last minute re-do of a project and I thought I was busy; but guess what I found busying itself in my compost bin.

I don’t usually throw mango seeds in to the compost heap because they will never decompose, just like coconut shells. But I suspect the DH has been putting them in there as he is usually on mango cutting duty as he manages to cut perfect squares while mine end up all squishy. Warm and dark and bursting with nutrients, these mango seeds could not have found a better resting place and now look – they’ve sprouted in to little mango trees…

Mango tree sprouted from seed

The outer hard shell has in fact given way to a soft fleshy green inner part with roots and healthy leaves. We’ve got 6 of these growing in our compost heap.  I quickly Googled how to germinate mango seeds and there are people out there breaking their garden tools over carefully monitoring the progress of drying seeds, germinating them in plastic and having much trouble with it when these seeds just did it all by themselves, obviously loving my compost. Once again, nature never ceases to amaze me.

I’ve had things I’ve been meaning to blog about this busy week but not got round to. But this little burst of life I just had to share. And an unprecedented third post on mangoes. Clearly my weekend is all mapped out – planting 6 mango trees in the garden to keep the 3 we already have, company. Live and let live, I guess.

About nonsense girl

Galley slave, qualitative researcher working in development, married my best friend, writing about my life, my family, my dog, TV, Indian culture, astronomy and my garden. www.nonsensegirl.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Earth and Sky and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The will to live

  1. Alka Ganesh says:

    In our present state of “evolution” the capacity to recognize and appreciate nature’s “ability” is in itself an art! Today our living spaces are being concretized, landscaped, “beautified”, so much so, that nature has been squeezed out of our radar! Thank you for sharing the joy of nurturing a mango sapling. Nandini’s comment proves that Sigmund Freud was probably right!

  2. gkorula says:

    What i’m getting is that if we leave nature alone, it gets by pretty successfully without us meddling.

  3. StuPC says:

    It’s the same in the UK – you lavish care, water and attention on a row of carefully planted carrot seeds and *nothing* sprouts.
    Meanwhile, in the shadow of our composter discarded carrots, peas and potatoes are growing like there’s no tomorrow!

  4. ashreyamom says:

    wow.. it all did by itself, is amazing.. let it grow into a big plant and bear all healthy fruits and flowers..

  5. Looking once again at your photograph of the sprouting seed – the shape of the opening strikes me as being remarkably similar to the human female genitalia !!
    Or is that just my imagination ?
    Could someone else reading this post and comments please clarify ? ( Preferably an obstetrician / physician or urologist )……..

  6. AMAZING.
    As a corollary …..my backyard has been a favored collection area for neighboring coconut trees offerings…I havent had to buy coconuts from the market since i moved into this house. Most often these coconuts are picked up and either returned to original owners or used as the case may be , but sometimes one or two may get left out. Well – one fine day I found one of these had sprouted ( just lying in a corner getting the hot sun and maybe rain – I really dont know for how long ) ….I planted this and today there’s a fine young coconut sapling growing from it. Oh and by the way, a mango sapling similarly grown from a seed shows promise !!
    So yes – Nature will never cease to amaze one !!
    An aside – why does this spontaneous budding not happen higher up on the evolutionary ladder ? Or rather – not higher really , but more like maybe a parallel evolutionary ladder??

Comments are closed.