Banana Bread

By any standards, I’ve done very little this week. A project I was to work on got postponed (cancelled?) so I find myself blissfully unemployed this week. Coming from a family of go-getting career workaholics, I suspect I sound pretty wasteful. Whatever makes you happy, I guess. So apart from successfully sticking to our exercise regime and mercilessly scrubbing the floors, lets just say that I’ve caught up on a lot of reading and a lot of sleeping. All the while 3 little bananas have been wasting away in front of my eyes. Today I took action against the rot.

The best thing to do with rotting black bananas is to make banana bread/cake. I’d go as far as to say that you shouldn’t use any other type of banana to make a cake involving bananas as they won’t have the intense sweetness and concentration of sugars that make the cake moist. Or you could prevent the rot in the first place with the Banana Bag that I got from Australia. It prevents bananas from going black. However, once filled the bag takes up a lot of fridge space.

The Banana Bag

But occassionally a few don’t make it in to the banana bag (owing to my slackness).

Black bananas too squishy to eat

So here’s a recipe for banana bread. If for health or ethical reasons you’d like a recipe without white sugar do check out Sparklin Raindrops for said recipe.

Cream together 125gms of softened white butter/margarine (not a pool of liquid butter you’ve forgotten about in the microwave. That won’t work)  and 125gms of sugar till white and airy. Work those bingo wings and cream by hand or use an electric beater.

Creaming together butter and sugar

Add 2 eggs and mix

Add 2 eggs to sugar/butter

Puree in a blender or mash in a bowl, 3 over ripe bananas and 1/4 cups or 60ml of yogurt/curds and add to eggs/butter mixture

Curds and bananas mashed up

Sift in  175gms of flour, 3/4 tsp of baking soda and 3/4 tsp of baking powder and 1/2 tsp of salt.

Flour, raising agents, salt

Add 1 tsp of vanilla essence

Adding vanilla

Fold the flour in to the wet ingredients. To get a lighter cake mix always fold in flour: move your spoon or spatula through the middle of the mixture, scraping the bottom, then move the spoon up, folding over  the mixture from the bottom to the top surface.

Folding in the flour

Then add about 100gms of chopped walnuts.

Chopped walnuts

Put in to a loaf tin or any cake tin (if you are not using a silicon baking dish, then grease and line your baking tin). Smoothen the top of the cake batter. Place in a pre-heated 180 degree Centigrade oven.

Bake for about 25 mins or until a knife, toothpick or chopstick, inserted in the middle comes out clean.

Great cold, warmed or even with a cheeky dab of butter.

Banana bread

No guilt whatsoever in scoffing these down!

About nonsense girl

Galley slave, qualitative researcher working in development, married my best friend, writing about my life, my family, my dog, TV, Indian culture, astronomy and my garden. www.nonsensegirl.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in The Pantry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Banana Bread

  1. Hey! Used your recipe and the lovely new bright red loaf pan 🙂 thanks a ton

  2. gkorula says:

    After testing many recipes (although i haven’t tried your white sugar free one yet) i find that this is the moistest.

  3. Looks wonderfully yummy!!

  4. StuPC says:

    I am, by no stretch of the imagination, a cook, but this is making me want to get a mixing bowl out. 🙂
    And I’ve just bought my own banana bag – oh, brave new world in which we live that can keep bananas ripe for longer!!

    • gkorula says:

      Only flaw is that you have to actually get the bananas in to the bag for it to work…that can be tricky on some days

Comments are closed.