I’m 3 today

Today Abroozi, our labrador turned 3 years old. 3 human years, that is. In dog years he’ll be finishing college right now. As you know I’m a big fan of birthdays and I felt that Abroozi should celebrate his – or rather, we should do something special to mark the occasion. And before you start rolling your eyes, I am aware that he does not know that it’s his birthday. I guess I am one of those people who does stupid crazy human things for their dog. 

This year he got a fantastic morning at the beach. He was literally riding the crest of the waves and being flung on to the beach. He chased crabs all morning, and really didn’t want to go home. Today he got a special birthday cake. I’ve searched the web for dog birthday cakes and I couldn’t find anything that was simple enough and healthy for dogs. So I’ve created my own recipe. This year, his cake was cut in the shape of a 3. We tried to plant a party hat on him but he resisted – he was too fixated on the cake.

I want cake

I really wanted him to wear the party hat but this was a rather difficult operation because he was so fixated on the cake, which somehow he knew was specially for him. But we managed to get one or two pictures with the hat, while he nibbled at the cake. Everything was happening rather fast so please excuse the not so great looking images.

Just a little nibble

Abroozi with his party hat barely hanging on

For all you dog owners, here’s the recipe for a doggie birthday cake – it’s the atta (whole wheat) beef cake. You can’t go wrong because if your dog is anything like mine, who has been known to snoop around the garbage, he’ll eat anything.

Cake for dogs

1.5 cups whole wheat (atta)

0.75 tsp baking powder

1 cup cooked minced beef. ( I pressure cook beef chunks and then mince it). Use any meat that your dog usually eats.

2 eggs

1 cup milk (use only if you know that your dog is not lactose intolerant. Substitute with a cup of just boiled water).

2 tbsps vegetable oil or if you are feeling really lush add 2tsps of Advance Nutricoat Omega 3/Omega 6 syrup/oil.

Atta beef cake ingredients in a mixing bowl

Mix all the ingredients in a bowl – it will be a sponge cake consistency.

Sponge cake batter consistency

Bake at 180 degrees Centigrade for around 20 minutes or until a metal skewer  (or toothpick) poked in to the centre comes out clean.

Last year I managed to take this picture by myself as the husband was away sailing. I substituted the beef for cooked minced beef liver.

Birthday cake at year 2

For the rest of the day, it’s back to the usual routine of sleeping, lunch, sleeping, a walk, birthday cake, play, then bedtime. And they say it’s a dog’s life.

About nonsense girl

Galley slave, qualitative researcher working in development, married my best friend, writing about my life, my family, my dog, TV, Indian culture, astronomy and my garden. www.nonsensegirl.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Dog Days and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m 3 today

  1. Nicky says:

    awww.. so sweet of you to make a cake. I made a cake again this weekend for K as she hasnt gotten over her birthday and still wants to blow out candles and sing happy birthday. the things we do!!

    Happy birthday Abroozi.

Comments are closed.