Jupiter meets Venus

As part of the 2012 astro-calender of events, Jupiter and Venus will be just three degrees apart (from your perspective on Earth) on March 14th. This happens around only once in 4 years. Here are pictures of the conjunction of Jupiter and Venus. If you look to the West at Sunset, above the horizon, you will see Jupiter (smaller as it’s further away) and Venus (big and bright) like two headlights in the sky. These were taken by my husband with a Nikon D40 Digital SLR at a 20 second exposure with a star filter. Look above the street lights.

Venus and Jupiter confluence with star filter

Here is the conjunction of Jupiter and Venus close up, again with star filter

Close up of Jupiter and Venus conjunction

Next week, on March 24th the moon will also join this happy couple making it one big smiley face. Pictures of that next week.

About nonsense girl

Galley slave, qualitative researcher working in development, married my best friend, writing about my life, my family, my dog, TV, Indian culture, astronomy and my garden. www.nonsensegirl.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Earth and Sky and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jupiter meets Venus

  1. gkorula says:

    Yes, this was in Vizag, India. This phenomenon can/could be seen all over the world. THe two planets have been coming closer together for a couple of weeks now. On 14th they were at their closest – 3 degrees apart as looking from earth.
    ON 24TH and 25th march look out for the moon also joining Jupiter and Venus.

  2. NR says:

    This is, as was seen in India, right?

    I’m not sure, but I think I must have seen them too (if that was it) around 10th or 11th [in Ch, India].

Comments are closed.