The “kuchh meetha” Wedding Invitation card

Wedding invitations in India range from the opulent and downright grotesque  to the fairly elegant and minimalist. Generally, Hindu wedding invitations will have the obligatory gold and Ganesh motif. Christian invitations are invariably minimalist with cream and gold. But here’s one that’s bizarre but also endearing in its bizarreness. You’ve never seen anything like this – it is literally and metaphorically “kuchh meetha” (something sweet).  This is a real wedding invitation card, given to us by one of the sailors, in my husband’s unit, from a very small village in Kakinada, Andhra Pradesh.

 

 

Wedding Invitation of Raju and Lakshmi, Kakinada

Note: the couple’s names, “Raju and Lakshmi” on the piece of chocolate….

Turn over

Cadbury's Wedding Invitation Card

Apologies for the quality of my scanner so here it is if you can’t see clearly:

Upper left hand corner

For the “ingredients” , it says, True Love Information. Be Treatwise. Get to know what’s inside. To be enjoyed as a part of happy lifestyle

Responsibility 1.10 g

Care and Patience 49.00 g

Expectation 0.01 g

Adjustment 49.89 g

At the bottom left: Wedding Toast

“Ingredients: 3 cups Love, 2 cups Warmth, 1 cup Forgiveness, 2 spoons Affection, 2 spoons Hope, 1 pint Faith, 1 barrel Laughter, Unlimited friends

Recipe: Mix love and affection, Flavour it with forgiveness, Blend thoroughly with hope. Stir in faith and laughter. Bake with the warmth. Garnish with all the friends, Serve daily in generous helpings.

Join us and be a part of this ingredient to make this celebration sweeter and memorable.

Normally, if I saw these words on a Hallmark card I’d have been retching by now but on a wedding invitation, sticking steadfastly to their theme, from people of a much less privileged background than myself and probably very traditional, I think it’s pretty ground breaking stuff. The recipe’s a little low on the “affection” but other than that a pretty good blend.  But don’t miss the time of the wedding (3.28am). You’d have to really be in love to get up that early to get married. It’s the attention to detail – the bar code, the calorie counter, ingredients –  and total dedication to the theme that’s… sincere and kitsch at the same time. This is a classic semiotic display and Cadbury’s Dairy Milk if you are reading, these guys have just given you a very very clever marketing idea. And I just know that you won’t give them credit for it.

About nonsense girl

Galley slave, qualitative researcher working in development, married my best friend, writing about my life, my family, my dog, TV, Indian culture, astronomy and my garden. www.nonsensegirl.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Family Ties, TV and Culture and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

189 Responses to The “kuchh meetha” Wedding Invitation card

  1. div says:

    I like it plz send me this template .I need it for my marraige

  2. arun kumar says:

    nice one i need this template can you share the template for me aruniskumar11@gmail.com.
    Please share

  3. Nikesh Kumar says:

    Please provide me the template it is simply awesome I need it for my marriage which is in April 2016. nikesh.techy@gmail.com

  4. SAI KUMAR says:

    Hai
    i like this type of wedding card plz send me a template

  5. Pway says:

    hi
    I love it! please send me a template.
    thank you

  6. swapnil says:

    Nice creativity. Plz send this template as I need it for my brothers marriage.

  7. babji says:

    Hi, Please send templete to babji.0403@gmail.com

  8. invitation with clue that its gonna be fun party and not just boring old school wedding thing.

  9. spadman says:

    hi, very interesting. pls could you send me a template to sharanyabharathwaj@gmail.com

  10. viraj says:

    Hi Can you please send me one copy.. will plan for my wedding

    email-virajg2309@gmail.com

  11. sonakshi says:

    Hey dear,
    Finally i found this blog, can u plz send me this template.
    so happy today as the day is approaching near 🙂
    Please send me this template at sonakshi02@gmail.com
    Also I would like to order them for my wedding?
    please do mail me the details of printing area and costing
    and thanks a lot in advance

  12. vihang says:

    Hi,
    Nice creativity, can you please send me the template of this?
    email – palekarvihang.84@gmail.com

  13. karan says:

    please send me template @ karanbaraskar@gmail.com

  14. Ashok says:

    Hi,

    can you please send the template (& also any idea where to order) to ashokkumar.m86@gmail.com?

    Many thanks.

    Best Regards,
    Ashok.

  15. Neelakantan says:

    Hi,
    Nice creativity, can you please send me the template of this?
    email – rneelakantan1988@gmail.com

  16. Pragya says:

    Hey dear,
    Finally i found this blog,can u plz send me this template.
    wud love to share one experience the first tym i saw this card few years back..i so very wanted to send this invitation..
    so happy today as the day is approching near 🙂
    Please send me this template at pragyawasthee@gmail.com
    and thanks a lot in advance

  17. viraj says:

    hi, could you please send me the template of this invitation.

  18. Ashwin Kumar says:

    Awesome creativity. Can you please send the template via email. I need it for brother’s marriage. My Email ID: mystuff010@gmail.com

  19. Hi,

    Could you please send the template to sunilammanabrolu@gmail.com?

    Thanks,
    Sunil A.

  20. Priyanka Roy says:

    Hi, Could you please send me a template for this one? Its awesome and i am planning to use the same for my wedding invitation. Please do send me asap as I am running short of time. I found this at the last moment. Thanks.

  21. John Mathew says:

    Would you please send me the template of this card…
    john.mathew@xe04.ey.com

  22. Kartik baldwa says:

    Can you please send me the card template on my email id : kartikbaldwa2002@gmail.com

  23. Poojitha says:

    I am looking to make this for brother’s wedding. can u pass me the vendor details.
    poojameena93@gmail.com

  24. Niru says:

    Very sweet invitation design… Can you please share the template for the same at the earliest at niru.binnani@gmail.com

  25. Roniya says:

    Hi, beautiful creatvity.. plz can u send me the card as i want to have similar for my son’s first bday bash..

    will be eagerly waiting..

  26. Jaya Krishna says:

    Hello
    Hi I am looking for this card. Can you please help me with the design/template or help me with a vendor to get this card.I am getting married in February.I am very interested in having this type of unique cards.If u have any other different patters please share to Email Address…..nanifeelmypresence@gmail.com

    Thanks
    Krishna.

  27. Mahesh Patel says:

    can u share me the template.. i need this for my wedding invitation card…plz

  28. Munna says:

    Hello,

    Can you mail me the template details…

  29. Pankaj says:

    can u share me the template

  30. Aravind says:

    Can you mail me the template to aravindachu@rediffmail.com

  31. Shrinivas Dhanala says:

    Hi I am looking for this card. Can you plz help me with the design/template or help me with a vendor to get this card.

    My email id is srinivas.dhanala@gmail.com.

    Thanks & Regards,
    Srinivas.

  32. srinivas says:

    Pls send me template,cost and etc… to my email id srinivasarajug@gmail.com

  33. Sudhan says:

    Hi,

    Could you please mail me the template and details of this invitation card. my id is sudhan.xtreme@gmail.com

  34. Harika says:

    Hi..
    nice creativity. can u mail me the template. my id is harika.curie@gmail.com. Please mail me without fail. I liked the design n i need it sot hat it can be useful for my bro’s wedding. Ill be waiting for the temaplate.

    Regards,
    Harika

  35. Harika says:

    Hi..
    nice creativity. can u mail me the template. my id is harika.curie@gmail.com. Please mail me without fail. I liked the design n i need it sot hat it can be useful for my bro’s wedding.

    Regards,
    Harika

  36. Shanthee says:

    Hi,

    Can you please share the template. This looks interesting!!!

    Thanks
    Shanthee

  37. naveen says:

    would u send me the template to use for my wedding which is in a month time …

    naveen.ece09@.gmail.com

  38. Naveen Kumar L says:

    please send it to my mail id.
    naveen.ece09@gmail.com

  39. Naveen Kumar L says:

    Hi Can you please send me the template of this.. will plan for my wedding

  40. Pink says:

    Hi… I really like d design… So creative…
    Can I have d templates too?lhping25@yahoo.com… Tq…

  41. vasundhara says:

    awesome idea..please mail me the templates… I am in need of it for my daughters wedding.

  42. tanya says:

    HI – i would really love a copy of the template can you send it to
    rogagustan@gmail.com
    thanks in advance

  43. sam says:

    please could you send me template to samanthakatie1987@hotmail.co.uk

  44. mudit says:

    superb could u please send me a template on muditmishra.87@gmail.com

  45. Dhandapani says:

    superb. plz send the template to my email id also dhandapanicse@yahoo.com

  46. Sonu says:

    Hi,

    Awesome creativity. Can any one send me the template via email. I need it for brother’s marriage. My Email ID is sprg.gaur@gmail.com.

    Thanks

  47. Nipun says:

    Hi can you email me template at nipun.cse.dit@gmail.com

  48. Diya says:

    HI ,

    Love this card. Could you please send a template to visionhere@gmail.com . It would be of great help

    Many thanks

  49. Ranjani says:

    pls mail me the templates to er.shivzzz@gmail.com

  50. Phani Kumar Siripudi says:

    Hi Friend,

    its a brilliant idea!
    I also want my wedding card to be printed on cadbury, kindly tell me how to proceed with the order. Could you please send me the template to my email add is phani06siripudi@gmail.com

    Thanks Much..

  51. Siddhu says:

    Please send me the template on siddhu21_4u@yahoo.com
    Thanks in advance.

  52. Nishi says:

    plz plz plz send me the template

  53. Nishi says:

    wow !!! what a great idea. can u plz plz plz plz send me the template. my email id nishi2401@yahoo.com

  54. Bhairun Singh says:

    Hi,

    Can you please share this template with me , It will be a great help.

    My email : nathawat86@gmail.com

  55. chethan says:

    Hi Friends,
    Please send me the Template and address (in bangalore) as soon as possible .
    My email id-chethan_nieip@yahoo.co.in

  56. chethan says:

    Hi ,
    Could you please send me the template of this invitation or pls provide the address where i can get it in bangalore. please send me as soon as possible, my marriage in this month 20th.

    Thanks,
    kanchan

  57. Ashok says:

    Hi friend,
    Nice inivtation. Pls send this template to me for my cousin marriage.

  58. deyatanu says:

    I need this template urgently for my marriage. Can you please email the template to coolamigo007@gmail.com asap?

  59. g_ashwini says:

    hi .. i want this template can u please send me…

  60. kpankaj1987 says:

    hi can u mail me templates … i am in need of it.. kpankaj1987@gmail.com..
    Thanks and Regards;
    Pankaj

  61. Rajesh says:

    Hi, its a brilliant idea!
    Can you please email me the Template…

  62. Rajesh says:

    Hi, can you please email me the template

  63. Sneh says:

    Hi I also want my wedding card to be printed on cadbury, kindly tell me how to proceed with the order. my email add is ercivilsneh@gmail.com

  64. kat says:

    fab idea, could you please send me the template k_mcgrail@hotmail.com

  65. bonty says:

    Please send me the template

  66. bonty says:

    PLEASE SEND ME THE TEMPLATE. i AM GETTING MARRIED SOON. i WANT TO KNOW THE PROCEDURE TO MAKE SUCH INVITATION CARDS.

  67. Anu says:

    please send me template on anugrah.c.o.m@gmail.com (please copy paste my email id, dots in between); Thanks ton in advance.

  68. Suchitra says:

    Hi..
    Could you please email me the template for this card

    Thanks in advance

  69. Anita says:

    LOVE this idea! PLEASE could I have this template? I am getting married soon.

  70. Nihar says:

    Hi . could you please send me the template of this invitation. I want this for my daughters wedding. Thanks once again.
    My email id is drlokur@gmail.com

  71. Suresh says:

    Too impressed by this idea…I wish i could use this for my wedding too…please send to suresh_destiny@yahoo.co.in

  72. teja says:

    Hi can you plz send me copy of this templt..:)

  73. Vaidehi says:

    Loved ur card… Did u get it done in kkd, I am also from kkd.. can you please give me the detials

  74. manohar says:

    Hi, it is good idea… could you send me the template… my mail id : manoharvdc@gmail.com

  75. S.NARESH KUMAR says:

    really it was good and nice innovative thought.
    i need further information about this… I am living in erode,Tamilnadu. where i can get this module pls give me the information to this mail id nareshsnathan@gmail.com

  76. Murali Krishna says:

    Awesome thought… Can I get the template and Address… I was told its somewhere in HYD… Would appreciate if you can give me full address

  77. Srinivasan says:

    please mail me the templates… I am in need of it..

  78. Alekhya says:

    Hey !! I’m supposed to design a wedding card for my project and i chose this could u send me the template of this please !!

  79. sivakameswari says:

    creative work. Can u pl. send me a copy of the invitation. I need it for my wedding.

  80. vijay says:

    plz send me the template

  81. Aashish says:

    hi, could you please send me the template of this invitation.
    Email : mailtoabcorp@gmail.com

  82. arun prakaash says:

    can u tell me how we get this..i need this..my id is arunprakaash81@gmail.com

  83. Prasad says:

    Hai i want details for thz.its a aWESOME IDEA REPLAY MEE

  84. jackie says:

    this is so awesome could you please send me the template
    dupreezijz@gmail.com

  85. Kranthi says:

    Hi ..This is really amazing…I want such type of cards for my marriage ..Its on May`12-2013…Can you plz let me know where can I get such type of card….Thanks for the blog

  86. abhiramrn says:

    Veryyy nice idea… Can you please send the templates to me as well ( my email id : abhiramrn@gmail.com ) . Thanks in advance.

  87. rakesh says:

    Could you kindly share the template… please send it to rakesh.kathi@Gmail.com

  88. rakesh says:

    Can you send me the template and also the location where do we get in Hyderabad… tq

  89. sudheer1437 says:

    I was searching for a nice innovative wedding invite for my marriage.. I found this one and in the very first sight i fell in love this card.. I fixed in my mind to go for this card. Good Work.. Nice idea. Could you please share me the template. Thanks!!

  90. PRASHANTH says:

    i, could you please send me the template of this invitation or pls provide the best cost and address wer i can get it..(if you know any address in bangalore.if possible other wise any address.) thanks.. my id is prash.mari@gmail.com.

  91. Deepak Rauthan says:

    pls send me the details, i want to do this…
    please…

  92. Vikranth says:

    very good idea , could you send me the template to my email id

  93. Vini says:

    This is so nice! Can you please send the template?

  94. Gaurav says:

    Can you please send me the template too… It would be very nice of you.

    gaurav.mehra27@gmail.com

  95. konasunny says:

    hi, could you please send me the template of this invitation or pls provide the best cost and address wer i can get it.. thanks.. my id is kona.sunny@gmail.com. or you can also call me @+919866230700

  96. knanda says:

    YOU COULD HAVE MADE A FORTUNE!

  97. Naveen Kumar says:

    Hey Gkorula , Could you please send me this invitation template to email as i would like to order them for my Sisters wedding , Any Ideas would be grateful.. 🙂

    Cheers
    Naveen.. 🙂
    Naveennttf29@gmail.com

  98. Suresh K says:

    hi, could you please send me the template of this invitation or pls provide the best cost and address wer i can get it..(if you know any address in chennai.if possible other wise any address.) thanks.. my id is suresh020586@gmail.com.

  99. Suresh K says:

    hi, could you please send me the template of this invitation or pls provide the address wer i can get it..(if you know any address in chennai.if possible other wise any address.) thanks.. my id is suresh020586@gmail.com

  100. sarita says:

    hey can u send me a template of the same on jaisinghani.sarita@gmail.com

  101. Paula Burns says:

    What a brilliant idea! I’m Getting married in April 2013 and would love a unique wedding invitation. Can you please send me the template? Many Thanks

  102. raj says:

    hi, could you please send me the template of this invitation or pls provide the address wer i can get it.. thanks.. my id is desireforver86@gmail.com

  103. pradeep says:

    hey gkorula… can you please mail me the scanned copy sor template so that i can change a few details and use it for my WEDDING .

    pradeep.dola@gmail.com

  104. Hi pls do mail me the details its a superb wedding invite idea 🙂 garudaa.personal@gmail.com

  105. Xav says:

    Can you please email a smaple plz? What kind of coco bar we need to put inside?

  106. chocoz says:

    Can you email a sample to me pls

  107. amit says:

    i like to order such card for my wedding. can you help me.

    • gkorula says:

      Hi Amit, I don’t actually print or make cards. But check your email as i have mailed you the scanned documents that you can give to any card maker who will replicate it for you, like Menaka Cards

  108. senthil narayanan says:

    hai gkorula can you please send me the details including price for delivary in chennai tamil nadu…….

  109. lavanya says:

    can u mail me plz, i would like to use the same card for my wedding

  110. Chloe says:

    Hi I’ve been trying to find out where to buy this invite but can’t find anywhere, please could you email me the invite too? Thanks

    • gkorula says:

      Hi chloe – i’ve sent you an email with the details.

      • Praveen says:

        Hi ‘gkorula’… this is a fantastic idea and am amazed with the creativity thought. I have my wedding planned in the next month and I am desperately in search for a good wedding card and my stop ends here. Would you please be able to advice me the details in how to get this card customized with my details. Thanks in advance and awaiting your reply.

      • gkorula says:

        Hi Praveen, I’ve emailed you the details. You’ll have to take the scanned copies and give them to a car printing company.

      • Anil Kumar says:

        Hello gkorula,
        This is Anil am getting married soon so interested to have this type of creative cads, could you please frwd me the details like. Where can i get this in hyderabad or atleast the template, price of this card. ASAP 🙂

      • Anil Kumar says:

        Hello gkorula,
        This is Anil am getting married soon so interested to have this type of creative cads, could you please frwd me the details like. Where can i get this in hyderabad or atleast the template, price of this card. ASAP 🙂
        Email ID: bhuma.vlas@gmail.com

      • i’ve emailed you the jpegs. all the best

  111. prasanna says:

    Im planning to buy the same for my wedding.. pls can u be able to email the details to me?

  112. Nisha says:

    Hi, Nice Invitation. Could you please send us the invitation via email…. so that i could use the same for my sister’s marriage

  113. tiny-feet says:

    can you send me a copy of this invitation as well? I would like to order them for my wedding?

  114. nazma bapu says:

    how much is 1 bar

  115. StuPC says:

    What a fantastic idea! So nice to see a bit of originality in the art of the wedding invitation 🙂

    • nazma bapu says:

      can you send me this invitation via email please would like to order them for my daughters wedding

      • gkorula says:

        Sure i can email it to you. Please send me your email ID. Or you can subscribe to my blog (left hand corner of the page) and then i’ll have your email id (that’s if you don’t want to put it on this website. Cheers!

  116. Couldnt see the card….but graphic description made it easy to imagine. The recipe is sure to produce a happy wedded couple …..
    Recently went for a wedding where the a picture of the couple was imprinted on a chocolate slab….given to everybody after lunch…… so the chocolate meetha is probably going to be the trend of the years’ weddings.
    KEEP THE CARD …….

Comments are closed.