Cesar Millan, I need U no more

In an earlier post ‘Cesar Millan ruined my life’, I was regaling you with my woes with dog training. Our Abroozi is hardly a troublesome fellow and now that he is 2 years old, he is even less of a trouble maker than when he was a puppy. The only problem I have with him is that he pulls (or more correctly, used to pull) on the lead. Ever since I found Cesar Millan on Nat Geo (Monday to Friday, 9pm India) I have been convinced that our Abroozi’s outdoor behaviour is that of a very dominant nature. Inside the home, he is a pussy cat. But take him outside and the tiger is unleashed. Cesar Millan was making me feel  extremely inadequate and made me realise that I had let our Abroozi take over physically and mentally when I took him for a walk. I think that after a year and half of more or less solely walking him, I felt quite upset that I hadn’t been doing the best I could with him. That somehow I had let myself down as well. So after a week of, there’s no other word for it, nagging my husband about how we need to improve Abroozi’s walking habits, he took the challenge upon himself. The deal was that if he could train Abroozi to walk to heel, I have to never speak about Cesar Millan again. So did he live up to the challenge?

I went to Delhi on work for a week, returned for 3 days, restocked the fridge and filled up the cupboards only to come to the conclusion that man and dog are doing just fine without their mama. And the biggest result of all: Abroozi is walking perfectly. My husband has taken on the challenge and won. I am super super impressed with both my husband and son. The difference is staggering. While the walks are fast paced, because Abroozi is a natural trotter, he walks right by your side and is allowed only certain areas to sniff around. The rest of the time he is focused and thereby getting both a physical and mental work out.

Now I’m in the Southern city of Chennai and from what I’ve heard the boys are doing just fine without me. Last update was that both had eaten their idlis and Abroozi was even having a “homemade” beef burger. He’s been bathed, brushed, fed and given a bone. He’s a happy puppy.

So my message to Cesar Millan is, “I value the awakening. I will still be watching your show but your name will never be mentioned in my house again. Thank you and goodbye.”

About nonsense girl

Galley slave, qualitative researcher working in development, married my best friend, writing about my life, my family, my dog, TV, Indian culture, astronomy and my garden. www.nonsensegirl.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Dog Days, Family Ties and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cesar Millan, I need U no more

  1. I am glad you chose to “roll with it,” (meaning you allowed things to unfold) within your family and dropped any negative feelings toward yourself. Although Cesar says exercise first, affection last, he knows and we know love always triumphs, and when we are confident and loved, we win, even if one of us pulls at the leash now and then….many blessings to you!

  2. Hi,

    I am so glad I came by this post today… I have been in the same situation too.

    I am dying to know how your husband accomplished the task of walking abroozi perfectly… Please please share…

    Greeshma

    • gkorula says:

      We use a harness, not a collar. Apparently he walked abroozi with no leeway on the leash at all for one week. He held the leash at the point where it connects to the harness and for one week didn’t let Abroozi wander to sniff anywhere. Abroozi had no choice but to walk to heel because he was being held tight close to the body. THe husband says his hand hurt for a week but that’s all it took and the in second week abroozi naturally walked next to him when he relaxed the leash. A few times he would wander but as long as you correct it immediately, he will learn. We also use certain words when we want him to fall in line, like “side” if he’s going too close to another dog, he turns his head away hearing that word. We also use “slow” and “wait”. On wait he stops. This we taught him when exiting the house on a walk. He wasn’t allowed to move till we said “go”. This too we just held him tight at the front door. And after a few days of doing this i relaxed the leash and he naturally stayed where he was till we said, “go” Using the same command, in the same tone of voice is very important. It’s the tone more than the word itself. Saying the word in the same situation every time also helps. This he learnt only in the last year when he turned 3 yrs, so there is hope for older dogs

  3. Alka Ganesh says:

    I admire the graciuousness with which you acknowledge that the two men in your life are getting on so well without you. But never fear, when the contents of the fridge run out and they are running on “empty” they will need a top up! and your place will be assured!

Comments are closed.